Kits – Primitive Tales (CD)

Categories: ,

In stock

After an intense twenty four months of winning the hearts of gig goers in the UK, Melbourne’s The Kits return to Australia for a brief promo tour to coincide with the Australian release of their album “Primitive Tales”. Drawing comparisons with THE SAINTS, GANG OF FOUR and THE SONICS,

THE KITS’ tales of crime, addiction and short-lived romances have resulted in a rapturous UK following and earned them recent supports with THE DIRTBOMBS, WOLFMOTHER, THE SAINTS and THE NIGHTMARCHERS. These slots plus regular shows at the Boston Arms in Tufnell Park, where the notoriously hard audiences have adopted the band as their own led to a deal with industry respected Dirty Water Records.

A garage rock’n’roll band at heart, THE KITS have taken the stomp and grit of the ’50s and ’60s and given it the injection of eternal youth through relentless guitar hooks and snarling vocals.

Primitive Tales was recorded in sessions at various London studios selected for their out board equipment or room acoustics. The albums opening track “Primitive Tales” and Australian A Side single “Get Closer” were recorded at Gizzard Studios (with Ed Deegan- The Cribs, Cornershop). UK Single “Don’t Want To Lose This Fight” and “She’s The Number One” were taped at Liam Watson’s famous analogue workshop Toe Rag Studios (White Stripes, The Kills). Primitive Tales also revisits tracks from The Kits “This is your Lung” EP. Giving audiences the opportunity to discover tracks they may have missed first time around.

Originally formed by brothers Jay and Kit Atkinson the band has seen various line up changes to fully develop their sound. Their move to London in late 2006 was designed to mould the sound of the band in the crucible of the UK’s unforgiving club and festival circuit. This called for the commitment of new members of the band and Primitive Tales delivers blow after blow of driving material which showcases for the first time now permanent members Marc Bonet from Spain and Michael Cleverly from New Zealand.

11 tracks released by Off The Hip Records (2008).